Adventures in Artistic Creativity

Taking pictures for reference

When I travel, I want to take every advantage to see all I can see. For this reason I carry my camera whenever possible. I’ve never been the type to set up my easel and paint plein air. I’m not knocking those who do, in fact I’m jealous of the artists who take the time–time I never seem to have. One day I WILL take the time and I do look forward to it.

With the advent of digital cameras, taking pictures has become much more affordable. Back in the day, each shot was irreversible and costly. Now if a picture isn’t what you want you simply delete it and keep shooting. For this reason, I take hundreds of pictures each outing.

During the early Summer of 2005 I found myself touring Rhodes Greece by foot. While walking through the old town area with friends, we came upon a cobblestone road when I happened to turn to my left and saw an alleyway that I found interesting. I stopped and quickly shot the picture then caught up with my friends.

On a side note, I’ve never had a better cappuccino than I have had in Rhodes. Simply Perfection! If you find yourself there, stop at any coffee shop and buy a cappuccino. You won’t regret it.

The following images are the photo I captured and the resulting painting. I have never revealed my reference prior to this point. However, I found both images worth sharing.

When it comes to watercolor, less usually means more. This being an older painting, and hind sight being 20/20, I see things I would have done different today. I chalk that up to experience and consider this painting a success.

My point to this post is to remind every creative person out there to keep your camera close at hand. You never know, you may be the one to capture and paint an image that will become known to each and every household worldwide.

Keep shooting and keep painting!

4 responses

  1. I am barely starting to learn how to use photoshop – I don’t paint so I have been trying to cheat and figure out a way to turn my pictures into paintings! I envy you painters!

    November 18, 2012 at 9:20 am

    • “If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”
      —Vincent Van Gogh

      I love Photoshop too!

      November 18, 2012 at 10:24 am

  2. bhawnavij

    Its wonderful how you have taken the accent colors from the photograph and painted it in watercolors.

    November 18, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    • Thank you! That is exactly what I wanted to accomplish. 🙂

      November 19, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

